Please keep the following times free for talks:

Monday 2pm: Welcome, recap and plan of talks.
Wednesday 9.30am - 11.30am: Review seminar.
Thursday 9.30am - 11.30am: Review seminar.
Online talks page

Go to current week.⬇

Week 1
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon,_Jul_16
2:00 pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational Meeting

Wed, Jul 18
9:30am
SSR
Brown/Berger
LIGO / EM Facilities
Review
Thu, Jul 19
9:30am
SSR
Metzger/Ajith
EM / GW models
Review
Thu, Jul 19
2:00pm
SSR
Hanna
Calibration
Review
Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Jul 23
2:00 pm
SSR
Sari
GRB blastwave physics
Review
Wed, Jul 25
9:30am
SSR
Fryer
Calculating Merger Rates
Review
Wed, Jul 25
2:00pm
SSR
Nishikawa
Synthetic Spectra of GRBs
Review
Thu, Jul 26
9:30am
SSR
Giacomazzo
Status of Numerical Simulations
Review
Thu, Jul 26
9:30am
SSR
McWilliams
Pulsar Timing Array
Review
Fri, July 27
2:00pm
Aud
Yunes
GW Tests of GR
Technical
Week 3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Jul 30
9:00am
MSR

Conference: Rattle and Shine: Gravitational Wave and Electromagnetic Studies of Compact Binary Mergers
All week
Week 4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Aug 6
9:30am
SSR
Hanna/Tiglio
Single Value Decomposition/Reduced Basis
Technical
Mon, Aug 6
12:15pm
Aud
Duncan Brown
The New Astronomy of LIGO: Exploring the Gravitational Wave Sky
Blackboard Lunch
Mon, Aug 6
2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting

Wed, Aug 8
9:30am
SSR
Quataert
sGRBs discussion,

Thu, Aug 9
9:30am
SSR
Rosswog/Lehner
Compact binary mergers.







Week 5
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Aug 13
2pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting

Wed,Aug 15
9:30am
SSR
Cadonati/Fairhurst
LIGO GRBs/Compact Binary Coalescence/Burst searches
Review
Thu, Aug 16
9:30am
SSR
Kaplan
Radio transient surveys and observations
Review
Fri, Aug 17
2pm
AUD
Cadonati/Levin/Fryer
Further issues in GW Searches
Technical






Week 6
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links, ....
Mon, Aug 20
2:00pm
AUD
All participants
Organizational meeting

Mon, Aug 20
3:30pm
AUD
Margutti
X-ray flares and extended emission in GRBs
Review
Wed,Aug 22
9:30am
AUD
Belczynski
Population synthesis: rates/predictions for binary masses and spins (part 1)
Review
Thu, Aug 23
2:00pm
AUD
Pian/ Mazzali
Supernovae
Review






Week 7
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links, ....
Mon Aug 27
2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting

Wed,Aug 29
9:30am
SSR
Belczynski
Population synthesis: rates/predictions for binary masses and spins (part 2)

Thu, Aug 30
9:30am
SSR
Sathyaprakash
Science with the Einstein Telescope







Week 8
Time
Place
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links, ...
Tue, Sep 4
2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting

Wed, Sep 5
9:30am
SSR
Hinderer/Read
Extracting information on neutron stars via gravitational-wave observations (part1): NS-NS systems ( Hinderer slides, Read slides)
Review
Thus, Sep 6
9:30am
SSR
Buonanno/Pan
Modeling gravitational waves from compact binary systems
Review
Fri, Sep 7
3:15pm
SSR
Boyle
Frames for precessing binaries (Boyle slides)
Technical






Week 9
Time
Place
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links, ...
Mon, Sep 10
2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting

Wed,Sep 12
9:30am
SSR
Miller
Dynamics and intermediate mass black holes
Review
Thu, Sep 13
9:30am
SSR
Mandel
Introduction to Parameter Estimation with gravitational waves
Review
Fri, Sep 14
2:00pm
SSR
Harry/Ochsner
Challenges of searching for gravitational waves from spinning compact binaries (Ochsner slides)
Review






Week 10
Time
Place
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links, ...
Mon, Sep 17
12:15pm
AUD
Berger
KITP Blackboard talk

Mon, Sep 17
2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting

Wed,Sep 19
9:30am
SSR
Harry
Coherent versus coincident analyses in gravitational-wave searches
Review
Thu, Sep 20
9:30am
SSR
Foucart/Lackey
Extracting information on neutron stars via gravitational-wave observations (part2): NS-BH systems
Review
Fri, Sep 21
2:00pm
SSR
Shen
Are we getting the right nuclear physics when modeling gravitational waves from neutron-star binaries?
Technical






Week 11
Time
Place
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links, ...
Mon, Sep 24
2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting

Mon, Sep 24
2:30pm
SSR
Brown
Summary of LIGO Scientific Collaboration/Virgo Collaboration meeting
Review
Wed,Sep 26
9:30am
SSR
Scheel/Hinder
Status and challenges in binary black-hole simulations
Review
Thu, Sep 27
9:30am
SSR
Galley/Porto
Status of effective-field theory approach to post-Newtonian calculations
Review
Fri, Sep 28
9:30am
AUD
Lundgren/Capano
What do we do in LIGO/Virgo searches if black holes carry spin?
Technical






Week 12
Time
Place
Speaker
Title







Mon, Oct 1
2:00pm
SSR
All participants
Organizational meeting

Wed, Oct 3
9:30am
SSR
Berger/Nissanke
Challenges in going from multi-wavelength to multi-messenger astronomy
Review
Thu, Oct 4
9:30am
SSR
Lundgren/
Pekowsky
What do we need from analytical and numerical relativity for modeling, detecting and extracting science from gravitational waves?
Review
Fri, Oct 5
2:00pm
AUD
Porto
An Explicit Calculation in Effective Field Theory
Review






Week 13
Time
Place
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links, ...
Mon, Oct 8
2:00pm
AUD
All participants
Organizational meeting

Wed, Oct 10
9:30am
AUD
Huerta/Le Tiec
Status of gravitational self-force calculations
Review
Thus,Oct 11
12:00 noon
AUD
Apostolatos/Brown/
Buonanno
Spin Precessing Templates
Technical









THE END!!



*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room, FR=Founders' Room, PL=Porthole Lounge
⬆TOP